Week 3: The Lord

I said to the LORD, “Thou art my Lord [Adonai]; I have no good besides Thee.
Psalm 16:2

The God Who Sees.
The All-Sufficient One.
The Lord.

As I worked through these three chapters I was overwhelmed by the goodness of God and also challenged by the obedience and humility knowing Him encourages.

To review, the first portion of Week 3 focused on El Roi, the God who sees. This name, from Genesis 16, reminds us of the omnipresence of God. Even in our most troubling circumstances, He is there. Reviewing Hagar’s story reminded me of times of abuse, loss, and sadness in my life which could have left me in despair or feeling alone in the wilderness. But in each of those moments–by prayer, by friends, by His Word–I was always aware that God was there. Even if He did not respond when or how I had hoped, He was there. Knowing God as my El Roi motivates me to remain obedient in hard times, encourages me to be free from worry, and changes my position to expectation for His plan rather than focusing on my pain.

Meditating on God as El Roi led seamlessly into the next reading on El Shaddai. Of course, as Kay alluded to, I could not even read this name without thinking about the 80’s song and hearing it in my head! Reading more on His name as God Almighty, has catapulted this to the top of my list of favorites. Kay writes: “When I have run to my El Shaddai, I have never come away wanting. He is my all-sufficient One” (36). In His might, He protects me. He takes care of me. In His power, He is able to fill me and meet the needs of my heart as no one else can. For me, El Shaddai is my reminder of how He satisfies. imageOne of my first attempts at Bible journaling this year began after praying through Psalm 90. I have truly found this year in a new way that He will indeed satisfy. El Shaddai.

This week’s readings ended with a challenge from Kay: “Before you can ever really know God as El Shaddai, the all-sufficient One, I believe you must bow before Him as Adonai, your Lord and Master” (41). Through a series of passages, Kay makes the case that commitment to the will of God should be central to being a Christian. This is NOT to say we have to work our way into being in relationship with God, but acknowledging Him as Lord moves us to submit to His plan–to be totally dependent on Him. We are His servants, which means, where He sends, we go. When He speaks, we listen. When we see His greatness and His power, our response is one of thanksgiving and praise. Recognizing He is Lord over all and in charge means that I am not. If I am honest, in my independence, in my pride, in my “I can do it” only-childness, this is not easy. Humble obedience to His lordship requires daily (minute-ly) submission. Daily surrender. From the moment my feet hit the floor, as the dear Amy Bruce writes, my mouth should open to praise Him and ask, “Okay Lord, what do You want to do today? Speak to me Lord, Adonai.

I am still creating my way through this week while beginning Week 4 on Jehovah. So much good stuff here to get down! Here is how Week 4 is shaping up:

Week 4 (June 27-July 3) The Self-Existent One
The Lord Will Provide
Day 15
Days 16-19

Are you reading along? What are you learning? How is God revealing His character to you in the circumstances you are facing?

Leave a Reply

