Day 16: Your Choice

Let the favor of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands upon us; yes, establish the work of our hands! (Psalm 90:17)

I planned for Day 16 as a free space to include whatever might come to mind or even to take a day off and have a blank space for later.
image

I decided to write a bit, and today I included another prayer for my husband, specifically focusing on his career. As I mentioned previously, my husband and I really do take a team approach in a lot of areas in our marriage. But careers are a bit tricky–especially this highly individualized “life of the mind” work that we do. As much as we would like to “tag” and jump in to the other’s work sometime on their behalf when they are wrestling with things, we can’t really do that. Sure, we attend each other’s work functions, process challenges in our scholarship together, and exchange ideas about what works in our classrooms. Still, sometimes it can leave you feeling helpless when you see your spouse being burdened by work, and you can’t jump in the ring with them completely.

When those thoughts feelings of helplessness try to come in and discourage me, I try to redirect my attention to prayer. God is the one person who can always get into the fight with my husband, and He is able to do exceedingly and abundantly more than all I could ask or think. I am always learning to trust Him over and over again with our day to day work and our long term careers in prayer.

Where did this free choice day take you? How did you fill your page? I’d love to hear in the comments or via #WriteLoveChallenge!

Bonus Love: Your choice!!

 

Leave a Reply

