Day 4: Patience

Patience is not the ability to wait but how you act while you’re waiting.–Joyce Meyer

Today, I wanted to make sure there was a reminder in my journal to encourage me to be patient. At our house, the pace of our lives has gotten busier — with growing careers, a growing kid, and church and community involvement. Unfortunately, as a result, I know that my patience some days evaporates faster than it used to. While I don’t completely blow a fuse, I can too often feel frustration and crankiness building up in me on those days we all get up on the “wrong side of the bed.” In those moments, I just want to throw up my hands and say “ain’t nobody got time for that” when things don’t go my way around the house.

But that’s really the problem–my desire for control–more than what my husband did or did not do. So today I’m doing a little art and writing on the word Patience to remind myself of the necessity of this fruit of the Spirit in maintaining peace and harmony in our marriage and to release control to God for our entire marriage.
image

I’m starting with Colossians 3:12: “Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience….” I love this idea of putting on or clothing yourself (in KJV) as a reminder that this is something I have to do every day. Just like I get up and put on deodorant, clothes, and shoes, I have to put on the right attitude for my day and for the things that may come up. I may not add much more to this page. I started thinking about “Bee” Patient and doing a black and yellow theme, but so far this is going in a different direction.

What comes to mind when you think about patience? What are you praying about/needing in this area of your marriage? I’d love to hear on social media via #writelovechallenge or in the comments.

Bonus Love: Set your alarm to get up a few minutes earlier than normal tomorrow. Allow yourself to focus on putting on some extra patience for the day. 

 

Leave a Reply

